Larch Cardigan

It’s feeling a lot like Fall here on the Coast

The last couple of days have been wonderful, weather-wise.  Very coastal…misty and cloudy with some appearance of the sun. Excellent knitting weather, baking weather and comfort food making weather!

Yesterday, I took the campus shuttle into town (rather than bike down) and I’m glad I did because the roads were a little wet from the heavy mist drizzle.  I was off to my twice a month ‘pampering’ session…aka haircut…and I wanted to just enjoy my walk from the shuttle stop to the hair salon.  I stopped at Starbucks to claim my free drink (grande soy milk salted caramel mocha with no whip) from my recent Gold member reward and walked up the length of State Street to reach the Salon.  (BTW that drink was a little too sweet for me…or maybe too sweet for 9:40am…oops.) After the haircut, I caught the shuttle to return home and then I borrowed my roommate’s car to head to Costco and Trader Joe’s.

With shopping mission accomplished, I came home and knitted away at my Larch Cardigan (More about the cardigan here.)

Larch Cardigan progress: I’m about to finish the last set of decrease rows. It is moving quickly (at least when I have time to work on it) and the yarn is really nice, especially the color.

Larch Cardigan

As mentioned in the previous post, I ordered yarn for two additional cardigans.  Well, I received the yarn for the Breezy Cardigan and the Deco Cardigan. I am really happy with the yarn color choices and I can’t wait to start of these great projects!

Yarn for Breezy

Yarn for Deco

I had a little fun on Etsy purchasing some really nice pieces to enhance my tools.

Knitting Purchases

Here’s what I purchased: The humming-bird notions case by Folly and Nonsense.  I love the humming-bird!  This will hold all my small notions like my measuring tape and stitch markers. The narrow case (Circular To-Go knitting case) with paisley fabric with ribbon by Knitonebeadtwo. This is my second case by Knitonebeadtwo.  My other case is for my doublepointed needles (dpns).  I decided to use this new case to hold the dpns for the current knitting project and other notions that are too large for the notions bag.  I will also use this to carry the circular needle tips if the project requires different sizes.  I love the paisley fabric!  The project bag with two grommetts and made in oilcloth (coated) fabric by DaisySaid.  I needed a larger project bag to carry my project when it gets to large for my smaller project bag.  The Larch cardigan isn’t at a place yet where I need to use the project bag, so it is waiting to be used.

So with those fun purchases and the yarn waiting in the wings, I am anxious and excited to knit.

Listening to podcasts and looking at Ravelry can be a bit dangerous (or maybe they are there to encourage) because I want to knit some cute felted slipper shoes from a pattern I purchased a week or so ago by French Press Knits.  I also want to knit some really cute socks…what?!  I have had no desire to knit socks but all the podcasters almost always have socks on the go.  Well, I see this as a skill builder and I’m thinking I might knit a pair some time soon.  I found a really cute free pattern on Ravelry called Hermione’s Everyday Socks…yes that’s right…it is named after Hermione from Harry Potter.  For both of these patterns, I don’t have any yarn…so I will be looking into purchasing yarn for these projects some time soon…maybe in the next couple of months…maybe sooner…

Have I been eating with all this knitting?  Well, yes, I have.  I tried a nice ‘fall’ like recipe from Daily Garnish called Quinoa and Apple Stuffed Acorn Squash.  I didn’t have acorn squash like the recipe called for but I did have butternut squash chunks, so I roasted the butternut squash (olive oil and s&p) and added them to the ingredients towards the end.  I also added some toasted pecan pieces!  YUM!  I told my mom about this recipe and she loved it too.

Last night, I made a vegetable shepherd’s pie.  I made mashed potatoes and added some daiya cheese. I made a vegetable stock sauce (I think it should have been a little thicker than I made it) and added defrosted mixed veggies.  I poured the sauce and veggies into a casserole dish and topped it with the mashed potatoes…sprinkled with a little more daiya.  Very comfort food…very fitting for the cool, moist coastal weather!  Looking forward to leftovers tonight.

Due to the weather I am yearning to do some baking as well.  So this morning I made Daily Garnish’s Ginger Currant Scones (only with dried cranberries instead of currants).   I baked two and froze the rest to bake as I please.  I can’t wait to eat one of the scones with some tea or coffee!

This month is going by so quickly and before you know it, it will be Thanksgiving!  I hope you are enjoying fall wherever you are!

This entry was published on October 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

