It’s Fall! No…It’s Still Summer.

Today is Monday, October 10th, and I’m sitting here in pain from the sunburn I got today…it’s Columbus Day and I had the day off …and spending time at the beach is the best way to celebrate (best way to celebrate anything really).  And, I guess I forgot to spray the sunscreen on the backs of my legs.  I no longer need to be a little concerned about how the front of my legs are darker than the back of my legs.  I think the back of my legs are going to catch up just fine, thank you very much.

Here in SB, Fall is slowly moving in…I’m guessing it’s the same for all the areas along the SO CAL Coast. What is so weird is how one day it’s pouring rain for 6-8 hours and the next day is sunny and warm and summer-like.  One day I’m wearing my rainboots and, the next day, I’m back to summery shoes and flip-flops.

But even with being able to wear flip-flops or get sunburn, it is getting darker earlier and there is a chill in the air in the mornings and evenings that make you think sweaters, socks, watching movies while wrapped in a cozy blanket and making and baking yummy food. 

This week whatever I made has fed my need for fall like flavors (good rich, hearty flavors).  I made a delicious tomato basil, recipe from Gwyneth Paltrow’s cookbook.  I made it without the slow roasted tomatoes.  I made Alicia Silverstone’s Rustic Pasta (from her book, The Kind Life).  I brought a leftover portion of the pasta to work one day for lunch and forgot to heat it…and it tasted great cold!  And, I have been dying to make my spinach and rice casserole.  I made it last night and it’s so good. It’s warm, delicious, comforting and very fall like.  You can find the recipe here.  (I’m eating it as I type this.)  It has many steps but don’t let that stop you from trying it!

And, this morning I finally made these cookies that I’ve been wanting to make from a blog I follow (Daily Garnish).  I made only one change…I made them with dried cranberries instead of raisins.  They. Are. So. Good!  I doubled the batch and, after baking a dozen-ish, I individually scooped and froze the remaining cookie batter.  They are just perfect! Easy, addicting and yes, they are dairy and egg free!  You’ve got to try these cookies!!

At least, if it still feels like Summer I can wait forFall to arrive by eating some great food!  Now where are those cookies…

What foods mean Fall to you?  Have you started your Thanksgiving menu planning?

(Speaking of Thanksgiving, I’m heading to Seattle area for Thanksgiving with my sister and we need to decide on whether or not to eat in or eat out…if we eat out, we need to find a vegan restuarant… any good restaurants you know of?)

This entry was published on October 10, 2011 at 7:23 pm and is filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

