My Knitting Projects for 2012

I recently found a new knitting book in my local knit shop (Knit and Pearl Boutique) called Coastal Knits with designs by Alana Dakos and Hannah Fettig.  The designers are from opposite coasts (California and Maine, respectively) and the book is styled to showcase designs alternating from each coast. 

The California coast sections in the book hit close to home.  After Christmas, my mom, sister, grandma and I stayed a few days in Cayucos and we actually visited several of the California places mentioned book.

For my projects, I’ve chosen two of sweaters from the Maine coast.  It’s kind of funny… I’ve always has a thing for Maine…never been but since purchasing this book and deciding on what to knit, my thing for Maine has popped up again.  However, I may have to rethink my thing for Maine because the other other day while I was at the beach here in SB exclaiming how summer-like it was and getting my tan refreshed, I checked the weather for Portland, Maine and it was freezing cold…

Anyways, one of the sweaters I’ve chosen is called Rocky Coast Cardigan.  I’m making it with a blue yarn I purchased while living in Aberdeen, Scotland.

The other sweater I’ve chosen is called Water’s Edge.  I’m making it in a light green (with cream flecks) yarn purchased in Cambria.

There is one more project I have in mind, a wrap…no pattern because it’s something my sister, mom and I saw in a shop in Morro Bay.  And, we all want to make it.  I have some yarn I’ve been attempting to use for a scarf  but I have so many scarves that I would love to use this yarn for the wrap.  Just hope I have enough yarn (purchased just before I left Aberdeen, Scotland).

There you have it!  My knitting projects for 2012!

I’ve already started on the Rocky Coast Cardigan and so far very pleased with how it looks…soon to be knitting the sleeves…I’ve never used double pointed needles so this should be exciting!

 

This entry was published on December 31, 2011 at 7:53 am. It’s filed under Blue Crocus Knits and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

