Great Minds Think A Like!

Little did I know that a trip to Washington State for Thanksgiving would cause me to crave Cuban Black Beans, but it did!  The day before my flight back to SB, we took a drive to Columbia City (south of Seattle, north of Renton) and ate at this Caribbean restaurant.  My sister raved about their beans and their collard greens, so of course I had to order those with my meal.  I was so impressed…they served tofu as an option for meatless folks like me!  So awesome.

Well, since Thanksgiving I’ve been thinking about those beans…they were a little salty…probably a little error in the kitchen (they apologized for the salty-ness but we didn’t care…I just drank a ton of water)…but everything that was served tasted just right all around.  Last Friday (December 30th), I decided to make some from a recipe I found on the internet.  The recipe I used was okay but I was a little shocked to learn to add red wine vinegar…and I really think this is where the recipe failed…something with that vinegar changed the flavor and it wasn’t at all like the beans I’ve been dreaming about.

The next day (December 31st), my sister told me she had soaked some black beans overnight and was slow cooking her own Cuban Black Beans…I was so amazed because I didn’t even tell her I was planning on doing the same…and in fact did the day before!  Great minds think a like!

She told me later that her Cuban Black Beans were so good, and she provided me the recipe to share with all of you.  You’ll need a slow cooker (crockpot) to cook these.  Since I don’t have a slow cooker, I may try this recipe using canned black beans (drained and rinsed well).  If you do this, I recommend reducing the cooking time.

Kristal’s Cuban Style Black Beans

1# Dry Black Beans, soaked and drained

3 cloves Garlic, pressed

1 Medium Yellow Onion, chopped

1 Red Bell Pepper, chopped

1 Jalapeño pepper, minced

1 Bay leaf

2 t. Thyme

1 t. Cumin

½ t. Marjoram

4 c. Water

1 Lime, zest and juice

¼ c. Cilantro, chopped

Salt, to taste

Soak beans over night. Drain and combine rest of the ingredients in a slow cooker, except lime, cilantro and salt. Add enough water to just cover beans. Cook on low 6 hours, until beans are tender. Stir in lime, cilantro and salt to taste.  Serve as a side dish with rice and a salad or maybe even some collard greens! 

Enjoy!

This entry was published on January 5, 2012 at 7:52 pm. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

