Small Goals=Instant Gratification

For those who know me, I’m not an athlete, in fact I dislike exercise that doesn’t consist of walking on the beach or biking along the beach or a yoga routine.  And so, I’m sure many of you would be surprised to learn that I’ve decided to take things slow, with absolutely no pressure, to jog/walk around the track here at WC for at least 2-3 times a week, in addition to my weekly Sunday bike ride to SBCC for church and some AM & PM yoga (from a DVD).

The only fitness goal I have, a small one, is to complete a certain number of laps around the track…jogging for some and walking for some (based on specific track markers I’ve chosen).  Each week increasing a lap or two.  Last night, I completed 8 laps around the track!  That’s two miles! 

I know this seems like small steps…but small goals provide instant gratification.  And, since I’m not really interested in running a 5K, 10K or a marathon, this is something for me, to help me achieve something, no matter how small it seems, and feel successful.

I’m a big fan of small goals and instant gratification.  For years, I knitted scarves…tons of them…mainly because they are easy and they were quick and I could get instant gratification…instant success from them.  Not too long ago I realized that knitting scarves was boring, so I took a class and graduated into sweaters.  Since then, I’ve knitted a handful of pint size sweaters (for babies).  Right now, I’m knitting a sweater for me and my goals for success for this project isn’t how quickly I get it done, they are learning a new skill using 5 pointed needles (not there yet but mildly concerned about this) and that the sweater fits.   Of course, I’ve given myself some room to allow for mistakes.  I’ve actually had to take a portion of the sweater out to fix a mistake I’ve made. I’ve also told myself that if it doesn’t fit I can take it out and knit it again in the next size.  No worries.

So I’m excited about my small goals and feeling of accomplishment when I complete those laps. I know I will feel a sense of accomplishment when I finish that sweater. 

Have you made some goals for yourself?  Let me know and I’ll encourage you!  We all need encouragement when we set goals!

This entry was published on January 11, 2012 at 12:19 pm. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

