Umm…Yes, I’m still here.

I apologize for not keeping up with my blog.  I guess it’s really because I either have nothing to share or you’ll find out that my busy life is a bit of a sham.

Because I share a house with 2 others, I’m not able to create recipes as I have previously.  I have been cooking/baking from a new cookbook by Chloe Coscarelli called Chloe’s Kitchen.  It is a vegan cookbook and has a ton of recipes to try…almost every page is marked and I’ve been able to make 12 of them so far.  I purchased the book for my mom and she’s made items that I have marked but have not had a chance to make them.  They were fantastic!  Highly recommend this book.  (I mentioned this book in the last post, so sorry for the repeat.)

Also, I’ve been trying recipes from my favorite blogs. Last night, I was quite productive making two recipes from two blogs.  The first was from The Pioneer Woman and was The Best Macaroni Salad Ever .  I adjusted the recipe to veganize (used Vegenaise for the mayo) and also made a few adjustments…used pickle relish, because I didn’t have the sweet and spicy pickles, about a 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper (or to taste) for the ‘spicy’ part of the pickles, and I did not feel the need to add any “milk”.  It was very tasty and I can definitely see how it can be considered the best ever macaroni salad.  I think it’s going to be my new favorite!!

The second recipe was from Peas and Thank You and I made the Double Chocolate Single Chin Brownies.  Of course, I made a couple of additions (not changes).  I added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp espresso powder.  I also decided to bang the brownies in their pan after baking for 10 minutes (open oven door and pull out the shelf…with hot pads, take the pan and bang in down on the shelf once or twice.)  I have heard that this helps to make brownies denser. They were definitely tasty and chocolate-y…not sure if the banging made them more tasty though, but doing so didn’t hurt them at all.  Very tasty… no oil, butter or eggs (yes, they are vegan).  The binding ingredient is a cup of unsweetened applesauce! Just make them, trust me!

I caught the Downton Abbey bug.  When living in Aberdeen, I did watch the first season but wasn’t able to catch the complete episodes of the second season on PBS, so I immediately purchased both seasons and have watched them continuously several if not many times.

I’ve been knitting up a storm… I’ll share the photos too so you can see what I’ve knitted.  Since I’ve been making sweaters/cardigans, I don’t have that much to share.  They do take time to knit.  I try to knit at lunch while at work, and then in the evenings and weekends.  Of course, several of the sweaters I started were pulled out or (frogged) as I mentioned in the last post.   You can see photos on Ravelry.com on my account at http://www.ravelry.com/projects/tlobner (not sure if you have to be a member to see them or not) and the one’s I still have copies on my computer below.

Projects since January:

The Rocky Coast Cardigan  by Hannah Fettig (bad phone photo on Ravelry.com only)

Water’s Edge Cardigan by Hannah Fettig (frogged immediately as noted in the last post)

Three Button Wrap – I designed this.  Made out of Cotton/Linen yarn.

The Draped Caridgan by Debbie Bliss (will be frogged soon).  The yarn stretched so badly that I had two different sized sleeves (what?) and the length of it…supposed to be mid hip was actually mid-thigh! Horror! My sister suggested to frog it…I listened and have shoved it into a bag to be frogged soon. I am hoping to use the yarn for something else.

Desperate for success, I knitted the Striped Yoke Cardigan by Debbie Bliss.  Thankfully it was a success.  I knitted it a size smaller than I had originally planned since I’ve found Debbie Bliss patterns become larger…either that or I knit larger or the yarn or …well, whatever the culprit…going a size smaller worked!  Here’s the picture:

What I’m currently working on:

The Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig from the Knitbot Essentials book.  I am making the cardi in the same colorway as in the book (it’s the cardi on the cover).  I have reached the ribbing in the body after knitting the body a little longer.  Next up are the sleeves and the collar.

What I can’t wait to knit next:

The Shawl Collared Cowl by Alana Dakos from Never Not Knitting.  I will be using this yarn and these buttons (two following pictures) (pattern, yarn and buttons purchased when I met Alana Dakos in SB…see below):

The Cedar Leaf Shawlette by Alana Dakos from Never Not Knitting.  I actually won this pattern from the Down Cellar Studio Podcast.  When I found out I had won the pattern, I jumped up and down and screamed out (without making a sound so I wouldn’t wake my roommate…it was 7am after all).  That same day, I learned that Alana Dakos would be visiting a LYS (local yarn store) in SB the next day…and I made plans to go to the meet & greet.  Alana was so nice.  We had a nice conversation.  I was really excited to tell her that I had won one of her patterns and for her to sign my copy of Coastal Knits.  Anyway… I will be knitting the Cedar Leaf Shawlette with this yarn:

So, that’s what I’ve been doing!

But what else has happened since I posted last?  My friends H&C from Aberdeen, Scotland came to visit me and California.  We spent time in SB, taking in the beautiful weather, lovely scenery and good wines (we visited just two of the several wine tasting rooms).  I found that I loved the Pinot Noir from Oreana Winery.  We left SB and went up the coast to Cayucos (visiting Cambria (for the Creekside Restaurant) Hearst Castle and Montana del Oro).  Then, we stopped into Fresno to visit Yosemite, and then off to San Francisco.  I was with H&C for 9 of their 14-ish days and I had to go back to work…but stopped off at Ikea in East Palo Alto and Cayucos (to see my sister) before returning to SB to go back to work.

Next up is a visit to Fresno for 4th of July for my mom’s birthday which is really on the 4th of July.  With June almost over, I hope you are having a great start to summer so far!

This entry was published on June 24, 2012 at 11:03 am. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Umm…Yes, I’m still here.

  1. Pingback: Summer Knitting Continues « Blue Crocus

Leave a Reply

