Warm Summer Days, Cherries and a Cherry Pitter

This is my first summer in SB and, while it appears to be delightful along the coast, there is a hidden element to the temperature that causes one (well, me) to shudder…humidity.

Over the last week, it has been so humid (well, perhaps not soooooo humid, but humid nonetheless since I’m used to dry heat one experiences inland in California) that enjoying the sun is almost unbearable (at least for me).  I spent a lot of my lunch breaks this week in the shade and I could feel the humidity rising as I sat on the grass.  The sun beating down on the hillside by WC as I walked home from work was an energy zapper!  So, I’m thankful that the weekend is a little cooler, and my bike ride into SB was great…but ever thankful for the car ride back up the hill in the afternoon from my friend E.

Cherries – I have always loved cherries and they seem to go hand in hand with summer, don’t you think.  I recently purchased a Cherry Pitter (also pits olives) and have used it almost every day since.  I’ve been wanting a Cherry Pitter for so long; perhaps it all started when I found a recipe (Martha Stewart Magazine recipe, I think) for a Cherry Tart (French style)….probably about 12 years or so ago.  I never bought one (and never received one as a gift…can you believe that!) until now. Well, I haven’t made the tart, but someday I will…if I can vegan-ize it.  But in the meantime, I’ve been eating pitted cherries in the evening and, honestly, cherries have never tasted so good.  When my mom was visiting me after the 4th of July, we had soy vanilla ice cream, freshly pitted cherries and cut up peaches…oh my goodness…tasted like summer!  Highly recommend getting a cherry pitter.

Knitting – I finally finished the Featherweight Cardigan by Hannah Fettig this week.  It took me 6 weeks and 2 days.  Not bad.  I lengthened the body of the sweater by 2 inches and I’m happy with the result.  Take a look:

My finished Featherweight Sweater

Back of the sweater

After finishing the sweater, I immediately cast on for the Shawl Collared Cowl by Alana Dakos.  This is a great pattern.  I’m using, for the first time, Misti Alpaca yarn (Mist Alpaca Chunky-100% Baby Alpaca).  The yarn is so soft and light.  It is definitely a quick knit project, but I’m trying to savor the yarn and enjoy the pattern by not knitting so feverishly like I have done for other projects.  It’s a nice break from all the sweaters I’ve been knitting!  Since the Cowl requires buttons, I purchased these:

Buttons for the Cowl

And I’m using this yarn:

Misti Alpaca Chunky for the Cowl

I really believe this Cowl would be great for gifts this Christmas…need to think more about that!  But in the meantime, I have more projects waiting in the wings to begin.

Enjoy the rest of your summer!

This entry was published on July 15, 2012 at 7:41 am. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Warm Summer Days, Cherries and a Cherry Pitter

  1. Pingback: Summer Knitting Continues « Blue Crocus

Leave a Reply

