December, January, February and Now March

Yes, it’s been a long time since I’ve updated the blog.  It’s now the 3rd of March (a great month all around…birthday, etc) and I’m sure you are wondering what has been going on during the months of November, December, January and February.

November: Knitting on Larch Cartigan with the goal to finish in time for Christmas, weekend in Cayucos with family members, Thanksgiving in Fresno…bought my car!  So excited because I don’t have to ride the campus shuttle any longer.  Movies at the Theater: Skyfall (opening weekend, I think).

December: Reached the neck of the Larch Cardigan, and just when I was about finished, decided to take it out and do it again.  Finally finished the sweater (seaming, button loops, buttons and all) on December 15th! Christmas in Washington.  Visited Rosyln, WA (location of the Northern Exposure tv show).  Knitting: Started and finished Hermione Hearts Ron Hat.  Started one of 3 baby cardi’s for friends using the  pattern, Cradle Cardigan by Hannah Fettig (sorry won’t show pictures of these cardis because I haven’t sent them to the recipients yet.)  Movies at the Theater: The Hobbit (opening weekend) and Les Miserables (opening day).

My finished Larch Cardigan

My finished Larch Cardigan

January: Work and life just about the same although the weather was so lovely that I spent some time on the beach.  One of my friends from high school came to visit for the day. We hadn’t seen each other in a long time! We had a great time together…coffee at Starbucks, walk through the farmer’s market, lunch at The Natural Cafe, walk along Hendry’s Beach and back to where I live before she went home. Cooking: I made Chef Chloe’s Black Eyed Peas dish…very tasty! Knitting: I worked really hard to finish the last 2 baby cardi’s because I wanted to start a sweater for a knit along (KAL) with one of the podcasts I follow (2KnitLitChicks).  But since I couldn’t start the KAL until February 1st, I started my first pair of socks.  (I haven’t gotten far on them.)

February: Up to Fresno for a visit with my mom. Both my passport and my driver’s license needed to be renewed this year and I surprised myself by getting great pictures for both (the one time I got a bad photo for my UK visa still haunts me so I’m really happy the new photos look great! Sorry if that sounded shallow.) Knitting: Started the KAL sweater (Breezy Cardigan by Hannah Fettig) using laceweight yarn in a beautiful vineyard color on February 1st.

Yarn for Breezy

Yarn for Breezy

More Knitting related things: Alana Dakos released a new collection, Botanical Knits and, as soon as I heard that it was available for pre-order, I jumped on the site and tried to order…realizing that a gazillion others were attempting to do the same (and subsequently crashed the site.)  In the afternoon, after the site difficulties were dealt with, I was able to order the collection and immediately started planning my projects. (Oh, I how I long to get the Breezy finished!!!).  I have decided to knit the following pieces from the collection: Autumn’s End and Entangled Vines. Using the following yarn:

For Autumn's End (Berroco Ultra Alpaca Light in Peat Mix)

For Autumn’s End (Berroco Ultra Alpaca Light in Peat Mix)

For Entanbled Vines (Malabrigo Worsted in Cactus Flower)

For Entanbled Vines (Malabrigo Worsted in Cactus Flower)

Events: My mom and I attended Stitches West on February 23rd.  I left SB at 4:45am and got to the Santa Clara Convention Center just as the doors opened. Oh my.  So many knitters, so many booths. Very overwhelming.  I had several things on my wish list: Yarn Swift and Yarn ball roller (to really feel like a committed knitter), yarn for the Oak Trail hat by Alana Dakos, yarn for the Wildflower Cardi by Alana Dakos from Coastal Knits, and buttons for the cardigans.  I bought a yarn swift and ball roller from The Oregon Woodworker, yarn for the Oak Trail hat from Becoming Art, and some buttons…and things not on my list including a mini LoLo Bar from the Bar Maids,  a Stitch Light from Buffy Ann Designs, something called a Needle Nook by Slipped Stitch Studios (especially helpful in keeping yarn on dpns), and my last purchase a little zip bag that can hold my ipod nano (square) from Yarn Pop.

For the Oak Trail (Becoming Art Cielo Worsted in Soul)

For the Oak Trail (Becoming Art Cielo Worsted in Soul)

After shopping (about 2pm) we joined an informal gathering of knitters and podcasters in the Hyatt Bar (next to the Convention Center).  I met Barb and Tracy (2KnitLitChicks), Gayle and Sharlene (The Yarniacs) and Allison (The Hollywood Knitter) and many other wonderful people.  By 3pm, both my mom and I were ready to go to our hotel.  That evening we went to a great restaurant called Lyfe Kitchen in Palo Alto (menu includes vegan options).  We enjoyed our dinner so much, we decided to go back for breakfast before heading over to IKEA.  Lyfe Kitchen just opened a restaurant in Culver City (LA area).  I recommend them highly!!

Last for a long time, hopefully, yarn purchase:  Since I couldn’t find the yarn I wanted or just couldn’t decide on the yarn itself at Stitches, I purchased the yarn for the Wildflower cardi from The Loopy Ewe. I choose the Madelinetosh Pashmina in the Thicket colorway (purple-ish).  The Loopy Ewe sent me some really nice extras in my box too. Nice service all around!

And, now March.  What’s ahead for March?  Sea Glass Festival in Cayucos (also my birthday weekend) that’s what!  Can’t wait.  Hoping for great weather! I also purchased a new cookbook by Chef Chloe- Chloe’s Vegan Desserts.  Just about everything must be made!  I made the Mojito Chocolate Chip Cookies yesterday and am planning to make Lemon Bars today to take with me to share with the ladies in the Bible Study I’m in.  Also, in January, I joined a photography challenge hosted by the Down Cellar Studio Podcast and have been doing each challenge…some of my photos can be seen in Flikr.  Knitting goals: finish the Breezy Cardigan, start the Oak Trail hat or finish the socks first, start the Entangled Vines Cardigan and then…

Enjoy March!

This entry was published on March 3, 2013 at 8:10 am. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

