Spring is here!

Yes, indeed.  Spring is here…but yesterday felt like summer.

When I stepped onto the beach yesterday to spend a few hours there, it smelled like summer…sand, water and Coppertone!  Ahhhh.   While yesterday was lovely, this afternoon the fog rolled in…sort of like a reverse of the typical June Gloom (fog in AM, clearing up in the PM).

So in March, I met my mom in Cayucos for the weekend and for the Sea Glass Festival.  It was a great weekend, although it was kind of windy.  My mom and I walked through the Festival on Saturday.  There were some beautiful jewelry but what I was most interested in was the ‘art’ or uses for sea glass other than in jewelry.  I ended up treating myself, it was my birthday after all, with a piece of drift wood with iron work word “love” on it.  In the “o” of the word love is a piece of sea glass.  This was just one example of things you can do with sea glass besides wearing it.  For lunch, we went to a vegan cafe called the Shine Cafe in Morro Bay.  I’ve been to the Cafe before when it was inside the health food store…but now they have their own place (right next to the health food store).  I had the black bean tostada and it was huge, beautifully plated, and delicious! On Sunday, we decided to go out for breakfast (we ate in on Saturday … a delicious vegan polenta scramble) rather than eat what we brought.  We went up the coast to Cambria to our favorite place…Creekside Gardens.  I’ve only ever been there for breakfast…apparently, at night they turn into a Mexican food place…really need to go one night!

This month, April, I met my mom, aunt, grandmother, cousin with her 4 kids in Pismo for one night.  We stayed at the hotel that has waterfalls in the hot tub…apparently, this is a favorite of my grandmother. It was nice in Pismo, just very windy.  We’ve had a lot of wind lately, making it difficult to spend time on the beach or at a park.  The visit, though, was really nice.

Knitting – Finished Objects:

Breezy Cardigan (Hannah Fettig): Started – February 1… Finished – April 7 – I love this cardigan.  It was made with laceweight yarn.  Even though it was a trail sometimes to knit…sleeve stitches falling of my dpns, etc., it is really nice to wear.  I”m really proud of it!

Breezy Cardigan in Vineyard Heather by Knitpicks

Breezy Cardigan in Vineyard Heather by Knitpicks

Oak Trail Hat (Alana Dakos): Started – March 8…Finshed – March 15 – The construction was interesting.  I had to pull out the hat to the band because I had an extra stitch somewhere and I probably would have finished earlier.  I’m really glad I took the time to take it out and get it right.  It is a beautiful hat.

Oak Trail Hat in Becoming Art Cielo in Soul colorway

Oak Trail Hat in Becoming Art Cielo in Soul colorway

Knitting – In progress:

Entangled Vines Cardigan (Alana Dakos):  Started – April 7.  In Malabrigo Merino Worsted in the Cactus Flower colorway.  The pattern is great.  It is a top down Raglan sweater.  I have split for the sleeves and knitting the body.  The sleeves are the star of this cardigan…vines and leaves are knit on the sleeves.  I think it will be beautiful when it is finished.

For Entanbled Vines (Malabrigo Worsted in Cactus Flower)

For Entanbled Vines (Malabrigo Worsted in Cactus Flower)

Hermione’s Everyday Socks: Started – January 30th.  This project has no deadline, just an ongoing project.  Since I’ve never knit socks, I’m quite proud to say that I have just turned the heel of the first sock.  I will be picking up stitches for the instep so I can take a break from the Entangled Vines for a little.

Yarn for Hermione's Everyday Socks in Knitpicks Stroll Fingering in Dusk colorway

Yarn for Hermione’s Everyday Socks in Knitpicks Stroll Fingering in Dusk colorway

There are many more projects waiting to be started and I can’t wait to get to them.  Not sure if I mentioned this, but I joined a knitting group that meets on Sunday afternoons at a local eatery.  It’s been fun getting to know those who attend and to encourage each other in their projects.

Cooking:

I’ve been listening on my iPod BBC Radio Scotland’s Kitchen Cafe and one of the episodes I listened to recently was all about Moroccan food and spices and so I have been dying to make a tagine. I found a recipe on BBC Food for a Sweet Potato Tagine with Lemon Couscous.  I made it last night and it was so good!  I, of course, had to buy some hard to find ingredients but it was so worth it!  I’m looking forward to leftovers tonight!

I made brownies from Chloe Coscarelli’s Desserts cookbook.  They were very moist and rich.  Yum!  I, also, have been eating a lot of kale…making kale chips.  I’m not sure I’ve mentioned them on here, but they are so easy to make…but you must have an ingredient called Nutritional Yeast (find it in the bulk section at Whole Foods)…it’s not a scary ingredient.  For my kale chips, I add olive oil, salt, garlic powder, nutritional yeast and lemon juice.  Message the ingredients into the leaves and bake in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes or until they are what you want them to be (crispy, soggy, or a little bit of both).  They are so good!   I’m going to add them to my dinner tonight! (I”m hungry now.)

What’s ahead?  More knitting.  A possible trip up to my mom’s the beginning of May.  Cayucos for a week in May into June. Possible trip up to my mom’s for 4th of July…Spring is going by so fast…soon it will be Summer!

This entry was published on April 21, 2013 at 5:56 pm. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

