Summer

It’s been awhile, I know. My apologies.  So what have I been up to since I last posted?

Well, I went to Cayucos May 31st through June 7th.  While the weekend was great, the week was overcast and kind of chilly…but that provided a lot of knitting, reading and sleeping time…oh, and lots of walks on beaches twice a day.  It was great to just hang out with no agenda.

Since that week in June, I have been walking on the beach almost daily (give or take a day or two in June and July) approximately 3 miles each time.  I’ve been listening to podcasts while I walk, everything from knitting podcasts (17 different ones…wow) to history podcasts (The History Chicks and The British History Podcast) to Harry Potter Podcasts (Mugglecast) to Tolkien related podcasts (The Secrets of the Hobbit and The Tolkien Professor).  I am collecting quite a bit of information!!  And, I’m collecting sea glass as I walk.  I’ve collected a lot so far but I won’t stop since it also gives me a little more to do while I walk.

Sea Glass collected June & Jully

Sea Glass collected June & July

Today I decided to head down to the farmer’s market and take some photos.  Sights and sounds abounded…you could smell the sweet strawberries before you got to the stand, the smell of basil reminded me of the pesto making days and everyone was carrying beautiful flowers with their market bounty.  I purchased some gerberas and basil (which I can’t wait to use).  Here’s just a few photos from my visit:

Knitting: The last time I posted I was working on the Entangles Vine’s Cardigan by Alana Dakos.  I finished it and am looking forward to wearing it when it gets cooler…in the fall and winter.

Entangled Vines Cardigan by Alana Dakos

Entangled Vines Cardigan by Alana Dakos

In the meantime, I started and finished the Point of View Vest by Hannah Fettig, knit in Quince & Co’s Sparrow (100% linen) in Pigeon (a blue-ish grey).  I really love how it drapes and enjoy wearing it!

I have just recently started knitting the Surrounding Tank by Hannah Fettig in Quince & Co’s Sparrow (100% linen) in Birch (a light shimmering blue).  It has a cowl neck and front darts.  I’m looking forward to wearing this too.

Birch yarn for the Surrounding Tank by Hannah Fettig

Birch yarn for the Surrounding Tank by Hannah Fettig

Cooking:  For 4th of July my mom came to visit and we had a nice weekend.  We ate a yummy dish that my mom prepped ahead, eggplant timbales with white bean puree, from Chloe’s Kitchen.  Oh my goodness – this is so good.  The white bean puree makes this dish!

I recently made vegan crepes for the first time, and I tried a recipe that turned out great, but I wanted to try the recipe I found later in Chloe’s Kitchen.  The crepe recipe in the cookbook was for savory crepes using more ingredients than I needed for my dinner, so I adapted the recipe and it turned out great.  I filled them with the white bean puree and sautéed mushrooms and spinach and topped it with marinara sauce.  This was so good! I can’t wait to make it again.

So that’s about it for me.  I hope you are having a great summer!

This entry was published on July 27, 2013 at 1:04 pm. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

