Year in Review 2013

Today is the last day of 2013, hasn’t the year just flown by?  This has been a great year and I know I haven’t been very good at keeping up the blog.

So what have I been up to this year?

I’ve knitted a ton. I completed 17 projects this year (last year I completed 10). The projects include 6 hats (5 were gifts, 1 hat (see photo below) was for me), 3 baby cardis (gifts for friends), 2 wraps (one was a gift for my sister), 1 pair of socks, and 5 garments for me.  Here’s a glance at a few:

Oak Trail Hat in Becoming Art Cielo in Soul colorway

Oak Trail Hat in Becoming Art Cielo in Soul colorway

Breezy Cardigan in Vineyard Heather by Knitpicks

Breezy Cardigan in Vineyard Heather by Knitpicks

Entangled Vines Cardigan by Alana Dakos

Entangled Vines Cardigan by Alana Dakos

Point of View Vest by Hannah Fettig in Pigeon

Point of View Vest by Hannah Fettig in Pigeon

Surrounding Tank

Surrounding Tank by Hannah Fettig

Currently, I have 2 projects on the needles: Autumn’s End by Alana Dakos and a pair of socks.  I want to finish Autumn’s End before starting the next garment project.

I’ve been trying lots of new recipes and have found inspiration from the blogs I follow and from cookbooks.  Some highlights from my recent cooking/baking include: 1) the amazing Peanut better Balls from Oh She Glows. First, these are so good, and they taste just like the ones my mom makes around Christmas…but even better (this is where the “Better” comes in in the title) they do not have butter (or vegan butter) or tons of sugar. They are excellent! I’m looking forward to ordering the Oh She Glows cookbook because I’ve had great success with recipes I’ve tried from the blog.  2) For a work Christmas lunch party I made a Cranberry-Pear Crisp.  I received a ton of compliments.  3) For Christmas, among many things, I made the Holiday Trifle from Chloe Coscarelli’s Chloe’s Vegan Desserts cookbook.  It was so delicious.

I have few recipes I’ll be making today … all from Chloe Coscarelli’s two cookbooks…1)white bean dip, 2) olive tapenade and 3) raspberry swirl coffeecake.  I need to get going on them!  I’ve made the dip before and it is so delicious.  Every recipe I’ve tried from both cookbooks have been delicious.

During the summer I participated in an August Break Challenge and had a great time taking photos daily and placing them on the blog.  Look for #AugustBreak in the title of past blog posts to see what I posted.

Additionally, I’ve started a new challenge for myself. Over the summer and into fall, I tried to walk daily on the beach.  Doing this daily was so great, and when the time change made it difficult, I noticed how much I needed and missed these walks.  So my challenge is to do the Couch to 5K training…not with a 5K in mind, but to just get more from the “walk”.  I’ve completed the first week so far (jog/walk 3x before moving on to a new level), and I feel very proud of myself.  Actually looking forward to my next jog/walk.  I ‘ve been using a podcast found on iTunes called Couch to 5K from the NHS (green icon).  It is so great and very encouraging.  I highly recommend this podcast if you plan to do the Couch to 5K as well.

I know that this year ahead will be an interesting one and I’m looking forward to 2014.

Wishing you a happy, healthy and exciting 2014!

This entry was published on December 31, 2013 at 7:34 am. It’s filed under Along the Crocus Path, Blue Crocus Food, Blue Crocus Knits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

